PDA

View Full Version : first step towards a turbo 3.3l



cutlassburnin
10-13-2008, 10:50 PM
would this be a good start?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/UNIVERSAL-BASIC-TURBO-KIT-TAURUS-ESCORT-IMPALA-MALIBU_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trkparmsZ72Q3a543Q7c39Q3 a1Q7c66Q3a3Q7c65Q3a12Q7c240Q3a1318QQ_trksidZp3286Q 2ec0Q2em14QQhashZitem250306170489QQitemZ2503061704 89

just to start somewhere and get the bulk of the parts for mock up.

SCREECH
10-14-2008, 04:50 PM
It's cute how they say on one line that the kit is good to "MAX 350 HP" and then a few lines down they say that the kit is good for 350+ HP. :kekeke: Looks like a nice setup, and working with new parts is always a blessing.

cutlassburnin
10-14-2008, 10:24 PM
Id love to get this when my next check comes as a " one big last project " before the baby comes..Im just concerned with the oiling system, thats really my only issue.

Zaloryan
10-16-2008, 03:55 AM
Hey Cutlassburnin, is there a Barnes & Noble near you? I went to my local B&N and found an excellent source for what you want. It's called "Street Turbocharging" and has a yellow Japanese car of some sort on the front of it with a sweet looking twin turbo setup. I'm going to get my own copy, as it goes from laying out mathmatical equations for figuring what you need to sizing the appropriate turbocharger for your engine to what to consider when building your motor prior to adding your turbocharger! It's got quite a wealth of information!

Prospeeder
10-16-2008, 10:39 PM
id be more into trying to convert a 3300 to supercharged froma 3800 setup. I would also be pretty concerned with the strength of the bottom end, and the fueling system. (i didnt see if it came with injectors)

cutlassburnin
10-17-2008, 03:44 AM
i origionally wanted to do a supercharger but a few people told me it wouldnt work because of the position of the alternator and injectors. trust me Id much rather be dropping on a sc then doing all this piping and exhaust work.

turbokinetic
11-24-2008, 04:03 AM
Have you got any parts yet? Just curious!
David

turbokinetic
11-24-2008, 04:18 AM
Well - the oil supply is easy. Install a tee in the fitting where the oil pressure sender is located. Should be just above the filter base. This will give filtered oil to the turbo. I actually didn't have to install a tee because my engine had a plugged oil pressure port in the block. I used it for the sender so the turbo line has its own port.

This is my 3.8 but the 3300 is similar:
http://68.209.87.173/84_Century/3_8_SFI_Turbo/Tubelines/lines8.jpg

The return is a bit trickier. It has to go into the crankcase, but has to be ABOVE the level of the oil. The safest way is to drill and thread a hole in the skirt of the engine block. This will give the strongest connection. The oilpan is so thin, that any connection may crack the pan. Also this puts the line way down low in a vulnerable position where it could get hit by road debris. Last, the oilpan is an "expendable" item. If you hit road debris, it can be ruined. It is easier to replace a ruined oilpan when you don't have to worry about re-fabricating an oil return into the replacement pan!

This is the way I have done it twice, with good results each time!

This picture is kind of hard to see but you can get the idea. The pan has to come off. Look inside the block for a place in between the main bearing webs where the block is flat on the inside and outside. Make sure there is room to clear the starting motor and compressor. Measure, mark, re-measure, and finally drill a pilot hole. From this pilot hole, take one more measurement before drilling the big hole.( A pilot hole can be easily threaded and have a amall bolt installed if it is not in the right place.)

Tap the hole for a 3/8" pipe thread, just deem enough for the pipe nipple to go all the way through the block, but not so deep that it sticks "way inside" the motor.

Glue the pipe nipple in with Green Loctite "sleeve retainer" and you have an oil return!

http://68.209.87.173/Temp/Oilret.jpg

http://68.209.87.173/84_Century/3_8_SFI_Turbo/Tubelines/lines4.jpg


Thanks,
David

cutlassburnin
11-25-2008, 10:24 PM
Well, with a baby coming and moving to a new place soon I havent been putting much money into the cutlass ( besides maintenance). Not to mention the wifey says no racing :( which i sort of have to agree with, cant be a good dad if Im road kill.

Maybe eventually after everythings settled Ill get this project going..kind of wishing I would have jumped into it before I did all the audio and everything, i put about 500-600 into the sound system which would have made up for most of the parts I needed. i blame my mom..she made me paint it. lol..o it was supposed to be an ugly sleeper...now its shiny...damn it.

Its lookin like right now the cars going to the wifey whenever she gets her license and Im looking into something rwd..maybe a caprice ( if gas stays down) or a 90's camaro. We'll have to see.

turbokinetic
11-25-2008, 11:50 PM
.... i blame my mom..she made me paint it. lol..o it was supposed to be an ugly sleeper...now its shiny...damn it......Its lookin like right now the cars going to the wifey.....Im looking into something rwd..maybe a caprice ..... 90's camaro....

Oh I understand! That's how it goes sometimes. You will need a project to get away from too much family life before long! Beleive me!

I drive my 86 Century T-Type with turbo conversion as my daily driver. It is ultimately at least as reliable as it was before the turbo system. I would not hesitate to have a turbo conversion car for my only car. I would want to have a second vehicle during the fabrication of the turbo system, and initial debugging.

A while back I was online with the notebook 'puter aircard while the ECM tuning program was open. I was thinking.... You know, with this setup someone could remotely hack into my computer via the wireless internet, and maliciously alter my ECM settings... "But officer I know I was going 120 MPH through town in a school zone - but It was not my fault I swear! You see, I was tuning my ECM and hackers took control over the internet....."

Yep I am a little bored at the moment!
David

cutlassburnin
11-26-2008, 01:55 PM
lol yea. That would be messed up. I always thought it would be funny to mess with someones speedo so it would read slower then they were actually going, " officer i was only doing 55", "yea bs, you were doing 90". hehe