PDA

View Full Version : Site's Numerical IP Address



85_Ciera_Rebuild
07-15-2013, 09:37 PM
Doing a DSL Lookup:

Name: a-body.net
Address: 129.121.184.165

Inserting 129.121.184.165 into browser's pane, redirects to

Classic Honda Accord & Prelude Forum
»www.3geez.com/forum/forum.php

which is not this site, but both may be using Vibrant Forums for hosting.

»www.vibrantforums.com/services/

Some type of DNS SNAFU...I have to use Opera with Turbo engaged (proxy) to access this site.

Something amiss...

lemons bob
07-15-2013, 09:49 PM
There may be some port settings or other trickery going on in the backend to allow the site to share the same ip with multiple domain names.

Cutlass
07-15-2013, 11:09 PM
Nice catch. We're on the same server account as 3geez.com, so the IP is shared. I just consolidated the accounts today, but 3geez is the primary domain, so using the IP will direct you to that site unless you type out the full URL -

http://129.121.184.165/a-body.net/forums/forum.php

85_Ciera_Rebuild
07-16-2013, 02:05 AM
type out the full URL -

I have to use Opera with Turbo engaged (proxy). Yes that URL will bring up that page, but login, and try to access a section, and poof:




404 Not Found

The server can not find the requested page:

www.a-body.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?6-News-amp-Site-Feedback (port 80)
Please forward this error screen to www.a-body.net's WebMaster.

Apache/2.2.23 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.23 OpenSSL/0.9.8e-fips-rhel5 mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 Server at www.a-body.net Port 80


When you touch on a section like off topic, it has this address: http://www.a-body.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?25-Off-Topic

which then brings up Apache error code.

Cutlass
07-16-2013, 03:22 AM
But using the a-body.net base URL works fine? Not sure why the new IP address would even come into play since it should be hidden behind the domain.

85_Ciera_Rebuild
07-16-2013, 12:32 PM
But using the a-body.net base URL works fine?

Negative....

I am on a satellite ISP called Exede. Their equipment fetches all pages and sends it to users.

When I insert this into browser: a-body.net

or this: http://www.a-body.net

I get this: http://www.a-body.net/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

I have no idea if the issue is on their end, or your end. Satellite ISPs can have issues, and Exede was setup to do all of the fetching...unless one uses an outside proxy

85_Ciera_Rebuild
07-16-2013, 12:33 PM
Note - Tonight, I'll clear all cookies, DNS cache, etc...and see what happens.

Cutlass
07-16-2013, 12:43 PM
Try clearing the DNS cache. I was getting a similar error after the switch, but everything worked after I followed the instructions on that error page and closed my browser.

85_Ciera_Rebuild
07-17-2013, 02:39 AM
Try clearing the DNS cache.

I tried that...but no go.

Later this week, I'll fire up another computer and hook direct to satellite modem....this is a backup computer with a fresh Vista install.

It boils down to three possible reasons:

1. Dynamic IP redirect
2. Satellite's Proxy is fumbling the ball
3. This site's setup is fumbling the ball

85_Ciera_Rebuild
08-10-2013, 02:39 AM
There may be some port settings or other trickery going on

I had a Host File setup, with this forum's IP associated with this site....Oooops.

turbokinetic
12-07-2015, 01:33 AM
Today (6 December 2015) multiple members have contacted me via e-mail and Facebook because this site is giving them an "expired domain name" error. I however, have no problem seeing the site. My IP address is registered in Texas. Members from Florida and Nevada have had issues I believe.

85_Ciera_Rebuild
12-07-2015, 01:52 AM
Today (6 December 2015)..."expired domain name" error....

Updated Date: 06-dec-2015
Creation Date: 03-dec-2002
Expiration Date: 03-dec-2016

It may take several days to update DNS servers, across the world.

Century7667
12-09-2015, 12:28 AM
Updated Date: 06-dec-2015
Creation Date: 03-dec-2002
Expiration Date: 03-dec-2016

It may take several days to update DNS servers, across the world.

Yes, this may take time to propagate. My ISP in Texas wasn't resolving the URL either. :(

Ken T.

Cutlass
01-24-2017, 09:01 PM
FYI to all, the site is using a new IP address, 129.121.184.164. I am experiencing some issues on a desktop, but the site works fine on my mobile. It may just take time to propagate.

85_Ciera_Rebuild
01-24-2017, 10:15 PM
new IP address, 129.121.184.164

That's the IP here...cloud.vibrantforums.com [129.121.184.164]

I had to refresh the page...first time nothing...

turbokinetic
01-25-2017, 05:19 AM
No problems here - I clicked on link in the e-mail notification; and the page loaded as usual.
Thanks for the alert, though!
Sincerely,
David

Cutlass
01-25-2017, 12:41 PM
In the next month or so, we'll be going to SSL, so I needed to move us to a dedicated account on the server.

85_Ciera_Rebuild
01-26-2017, 01:49 AM
we'll be going to SSL

Interesting, another auto web site I visit has converted over to https. I understand the need for SSL for online transactions, but not on general talk/talk forums.

I realize Intel would have less background info available, but in my case, its not relevant.

Trivial, FWIW:

The UK now wields unprecedented surveillance powers (http://www.theverge.com/2016/11/23/13718768/uk-surveillance-laws-explained-investigatory-powers-bill) — here’s what it means
...
...
...
A NATION'S BROWSER HISTORY and a search engine to match


The UK government will keep a record of every website every citizen visits for up to a year, with this information also including the apps they use on their phone, and the metadata of their calls. This information is known as internet connection records, or ICRs, and won’t include the exact URL of each site someone visits, but the base domain. For this particular webpage, for example, the government would know you went to http://www.theverge.com , the time you visited, how long you stayed, your IP address, and some information about your computer — but no individual pages.

Each Internet Service Provider (ISP) and mobile carrier in the UK will have to store this data, which the government will pay them to do.
...
...
...
Update November 29th: The story has been updated to note that the Bill has now received royal assent and is officially law

turbokinetic
01-26-2017, 04:28 AM
Wow at the UK news article. I have known for a long time that the UK is possibly the worst surveillance state in the free world..... but this really takes the cake for going overboard.

Cutlass
01-26-2017, 07:04 PM
Google is actually forcing my hand, and I suspect the same is true with most other forums sooner or later. Google penalizes sites that store user information outside of SSL (in our case, passwords, email addresses, etc) with lower search rankings. And now the newest version of Chrome will apparently offer an obnoxious warning when visiting "nonsecure" sites that collect passwords. VBulletin, of course, encrypts passwords but that isn't "secure" according to Google.

85_Ciera_Rebuild
01-27-2017, 03:44 AM
Google is actually forcing my hand.

I suspect you have seen this: Security Starts Here (https://encryptallthethings.net/)

I suspect this prevents man-in-the-middle attacks if SSL's preconditions are not broken (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/14907581/ssl-and-man-in-the-middle-misunderstanding). Also noted there, "The point of CAs is to defeat a man-in-the-middle attack."

85_Ciera_Rebuild
01-31-2017, 06:07 PM
I suspect the same is true with most other forums sooner or later.

Have you heard of the CAN-SPAM Act (https://www.ftc.gov/tips-advice/business-center/guidance/can-spam-act-compliance-guide-business): A Compliance Guide for Business

This other forum has commercial vendors there, who post...but I'm not sure if this is related to https.

Cutlass
02-08-2017, 01:21 PM
I suspect you have seen this: Security Starts Here (https://encryptallthethings.net/)

I suspect this prevents man-in-the-middle attacks if SSL's preconditions are not broken (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/14907581/ssl-and-man-in-the-middle-misunderstanding). Also noted there, "The point of CAs is to defeat a man-in-the-middle attack."

Yes, SSL is intended to protect data while in transit.


Have you heard of the CAN-SPAM Act (https://www.ftc.gov/tips-advice/business-center/guidance/can-spam-act-compliance-guide-business): A Compliance Guide for Business

This other forum has commercial vendors there, who post...but I'm not sure if this is related to https.

I am familiar with CAN-SPAM (yes, you CAN SPAM, thanks to Congress). It doesn't involve SSL.

Cutlass
01-15-2018, 03:51 PM
The site has migrated to a new server, with an IP address of 37.60.248.31

It took a day or so to propagate, but it seems to have gone smoothly. If anyone encounters missing files or images, please let me know.

turbokinetic
01-16-2018, 12:06 PM
The site has migrated to a new server, with an IP address of 37.60.248.31

It took a day or so to propagate, but it seems to have gone smoothly. If anyone encounters missing files or images, please let me know.

Thanks for keeping it up and running for us!

85_Ciera_Rebuild
01-19-2018, 11:48 PM
Google is actually forcing my hand....

Mozilla Restricts All New Firefox Features to HTTPS Only (https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/software/mozilla-restricts-all-new-firefox-features-to-https-only/)
...
...
Mozilla continues its push for HTTPS

The move comes after a continuous push from browser makers to force website owners and developers to adopt HTTPS as a default state for the Web.

Mozilla has been tremendously helpful in this manner via the Let's Encrypt project, which it supported since the beginning.

Almost 65% of web pages loaded by Firefox in November used HTTPS, compared to 45% at the end of 2016, according to Let's Encrypt numbers.