PDA

View Full Version : Teves ABS pump issue



The Dark Side of Will
10-14-2007, 02:28 AM
I have a '90 6000 AWD that still has ABS. In fact, it has a Prior remanufactured ABS assembly that I installed... oh about a year ago.

It has a very slow leak somewhere and the pump runs, but does not move any fluid. When I turn the key on, I can raise the hood and feel the pump running if I touch it, but the fluid level in the reservoir does not go down, and of course it never builds any accumulator pressure so I have no brake boost.

Anyone had this issue before?

CieraSL92
10-14-2007, 06:01 AM
Yes. On a Bonneville SSEI. The early ABS systems for GMs were junk in my opinion. I got rid of all the ABS crap.

The Dark Side of Will
10-14-2007, 12:13 PM
I'd like to keep the ABS on this car. There's no reason it should fail a year after installation. I was hoping that someone would be able to say "Yeah, that's the shaft seal on the pump" or "Your drive pin between the motor and pump broke",

The Dark Side of Will
11-01-2007, 04:09 PM
I pulled the unit and sent it to Prior. It was installed in March of '06, so it's been there a year and a half. It was a fresh overhaul from Prior when installed. The Prior rep I spoke to said that they are a rebuilding shop, not a repair shop, and that if they did anything to it, it would be a full overhaul. That's not what I want to hear. If a unit fails after a year and a half and the only fix is a $600 overhaul, F#$% that... I'll go to vacuum brakes and drop 20# off the nose of the car.

dcjredline
11-01-2007, 05:06 PM
That sucks man. Let us know what you decide

The Dark Side of Will
11-09-2007, 10:35 PM
Prior looked at the unit. It was a pump problem (pump is a sub-assembly separate from the master cylinder) and they fixed it free of charge and sent it back. It arrived yesterday. I'll install it this weekend and get the car back on the road.

notsoslimshady76
11-09-2007, 11:12 PM
thats good! nice to know some companies arent total *******s!

The Dark Side of Will
11-11-2007, 04:33 PM
There's a rubber boot that goes between the bracket and the firewall and projects into the passenger compartment to cover the end of the pushrod. The unit had that on it when I sent it to Prior, but didn't come back with it. The unit also had a 6mm screw on it that's used to secure ground connections, but didn't come back with that either. Grrr... At least it was free to fix...

The Dark Side of Will
11-19-2007, 03:41 AM
I got the unit installed last weekend, but didn't bleed it.

I bled it this weekend. The front brakes are operated by a master cylinder. The rears are operated purely by boost pressure via a spool valve that's actuated by (I think) master cylinder piston position (Harder/further you push the front brakes, the more the rears apply), but there's no mechanical or hydraulic link directly from the pedal to the rear brakes.

This means that the rear brakes must be bled with the system energized and pressurized, but the fronts have to be bled with the system de-energized and de-pressurized. My understanding is that other than these conditions, the system will bleed like any other.

The rears bled ok, but now I've got the same problem on the fronts that I had when I originally installed the new unit... I just can't get the fronts bled enough to get a decent pedal. I have pedal that's good enough to drive, but not great.

I didn't bench bleed the unit because it has connections all over it, 3 of them on the bottom. I didn't know what good blench bleeding it would do if the connections are on the bottom.

If anyone knows the secret handshake to get this system to bleed right, please share.

dcjredline
11-19-2007, 01:05 PM
http://img180.imageshack.us/my.php?image=teves2ne4.jpg

Or they are on my webpage here http://www.geocities.com/steredline/INFO.html

Pontiac6ksteawd
11-19-2007, 11:32 PM
Don, gotta be a ass here a little bit. But PPL, please quit using imageshack. Tired of the popups, and spyware....

Back on topic now...

dcjredline
11-20-2007, 03:46 AM
Please make a suggestion then. I have been using imageshack for a while now and this is the first I have heard for complaints.

Tuddi
11-20-2007, 04:08 AM
Imageshack is great.... if you don't mind losing the images after a couple of months where no one has been viewing them.

It's really annoying coming back to a thread where there's a lot of pictures... that have been removed from the server. That's just what happens with those "free" services.

I use one of my domains to upload images to, and you guy's are welcome to do so as well. I'm not going to run out of space for quite a while (1500 GB - yes, 1.5 TB).

To get there, use this link:

http://upload.hraunfjord.org/upload.php3

Only a few things to remember:

1. Max size is around 1.5 MB for each image.
2. Only .jpg and .gif images are uploadable
3. When uploading, be sure your image extensions are in lower case .JPG will not work, while .jpg will work (no CAPS in the file extension).
4. Remember to name the picture in a unique way (the box at the top of the page) As an example: "MyPicture" and NOT "MyPicture.jpg"

I would apreciate it if you'd not advertise the link to people outside these forums. I am not interested in having a million people posting pictures on my domain... but as I said, you guy's are welcome to.

The admin is welcome to put the link in the header of the forums where it is easily accessible for everyone.

Tuddi
11-20-2007, 05:40 AM
Imageshack is great.... if you don't mind losing the images after a couple of months where no one has been viewing them.

Example right here, and not even a month old posting:

http://www.a-body.net/forums/showpost.php?p=1140&postcount=54


Tuddi, here are the 2 pictures of the passengers side mirror I am going to send to you.

http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/1707/mirror001mediumnv6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/2408/mirror002mediumfl7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

DynoDave
11-21-2007, 12:58 AM
Don, gotta be a ass here a little bit. But PPL, please quit using imageshack. Tired of the popups, and spyware....

Back on topic now...

No pop-ups here. But I'm using Firefox.

If you want another free photo host, try photobucket. I've used it for year, and think it's great.

Tuddi
11-21-2007, 01:33 AM
No pop-ups here. But I'm using Firefox.

If you want another free photo host, try photobucket. I've used it for year, and think it's great.

My service is still better... no popups, no fees, no spyware, no hidden agenda, no removal of photos even after years and years.... the way things should be everywhere.

BBrip84Oatsie95
11-21-2007, 01:51 AM
I second that motion. Firefox is AMAZING.

dcjredline
11-21-2007, 03:14 AM
Tuddi, Sorry but I deleted them from imageshack. I figured they were usss now. :o

As for your site I will look into using it in the near future THANKS!!

Tuddi
11-21-2007, 04:13 AM
Be welcome to use it as much as you want.

The Dark Side of Will
11-21-2007, 02:26 PM
http://img180.imageshack.us/my.php?image=teves2ne4.jpg

Or they are on my webpage here http://www.geocities.com/steredline/INFO.html

Great! Thanks. That procedure says to use J-35798 to pressure bleed with 20 (!!) psi of air pressure. There's a guy on eBay selling NOS J-35798 tools for about $1 plus ~$5 shipping, so I'll get one of those soon.

20 is a heck of a lot of pressure for bleeding... I've had good success with 5-6 psi on the clutch and brake systems in Fieros.