PDA

View Full Version : OT - 1980 Malibu 229 Chevy V6 - resurrection!

turbokinetic
02-15-2009, 04:52 PM
Here is the Malibu I was given last month. At first I was told the car hadn't run since 87, but I have since learned it may have been 97. But that is still 12 years of sitting!

I externally cleaned the carburetor with Berryman B12 spray, then filled the carb bowl with same spray via the bowl vent. Changed the oil, installed a starter and battery, and this is the result:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xGXOQK6IXDg

Then I found a radiator and ran it for an hour or so, here is the second run:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Zcoo2eXAgI

Hope you enjoyed seeing that resurrection from the weed patch! :)

Later,
David

LordDurock
02-15-2009, 06:27 PM
well get a fan shrowd and 305 and you should be set ot drit track that car with little trouble

Century7667
02-16-2009, 02:33 AM
Wow. That car brought back memories. Dad bought our blue 1980 Malibu Classic when I was a freshman in high school. 229 V6 mated to a Turbo Hydramatic 200C tranny. Dad was a die-hard Ford man, but he'll admit to this day that his 1980 Malibu was the best car he ever owned. Kept the car until 1998 with 147,000 miles on it. It was in much better shape than that one on Youtube.

The 229 might not have been as refined at the 231 was, but it got the job done, and that dualjet carb on top never did get rebuilt after 18 years, no did it need it.. The ride and handling were superb, especially for that era. The body was excellent and the quality was there. You could get an honest 15-16 mpg in town, and 25-26 on the road. For a carburetor, not too shabby. The only fault Dad had with it, was that GM got cheap on the radiator (2 row only), and of course the 200C was troublesome and had to be serviced at 30,000 miles. No vacuum modulator didn't endear him either. Other than that, it was the best family car for us back then (3 kids, Mom and Dad).

...but it wasn't off topic. It was an A-body!

Ken T.