PDA

View Full Version : Stupid question for you audio guys.

The Mad Hatter
03-15-2009, 06:24 PM
Hey guys. This is a question for my VW. Right now, its got 4 speakers, two in the package shelf, two in the doors. Unfortunately, it feels like all the sound is coming from behind me. I'd like to put some speakers back in the stock locations in the dash, but keep the 4 already there. Do i HAVE to get an amp to do this? My head unit is just a JVC $90 unit, nothing special. I'm not too good with this audio stuff! Thanks for any help ya'll

Techfizzle
03-15-2009, 07:37 PM
run some 2-3" tweets off your main speakers and place them were they face you. It wont drain your headunit

The Mad Hatter
03-15-2009, 09:44 PM
I'd like to just put some 2 1/4" speaker back in the stock locations. Do i need an amp for that or will it drain the head unit. I can get the power ratings off the speakers and unit if that will help.

Techfizzle
03-16-2009, 01:35 AM
that will help

CieraSL92
03-16-2009, 02:03 AM
Try to match the impedance of the speakers..

Pontiac6ksteawd
03-16-2009, 11:58 PM
Or buy some component speakers, and mount them, the main in the door, and the tweeter component in the dash. Matched impedence, matched speakers for parity and OHM's. And it will sound better because of it.

cutlassburnin
03-18-2009, 02:28 AM
simple fix. adjust the fade on ur h.u.

The Mad Hatter
03-19-2009, 12:45 AM
Try to match the impedance of the speakers..

Sorry, drawing a blank on speaker impedance? :uh:

Or buy some component speakers, and mount them, the main in the door, and the tweeter component in the dash. Matched impedence, matched speakers for parity and OHM's. And it will sound better because of it.

I like the suggestion, but i'm not looking to buy any more speakers. I've got two 2 & 1/4" speakers that i can mount in the stock locations in addition to the other 4 already installed. I'm just trying to find out if that's possible without an amp.

simple fix. adjust the fade on ur h.u.