PDA

View Full Version : Refresh of an old classic

beretta2800
11-15-2013, 07:31 PM
Hey Guys, I'm new here. I just got a 1987 Celebrity wagon (which my wife has affectionately dubbed "Ginger") 2.8l V6 with the 125c transmission. She has 53k miles on her and she is amazingly clean for a NY car.. Not a Eurosport, but It has the JA2 option and the third row seat like I wanted.

I am a Chevrolet Technician and have been spoiled by all of the new features. I also have been jaded by the quality issues, in recent years in a number of different product lines; Its why I bought Ginger.

One other thing I have noticed is that Fuel economy has not made leaps and bounds since the end of the eighties; cars vans and trucks are bigger, heavier, and are less aerodynamic (frontal area anyway) than their counterparts in the beginning of the nineties (think Lumina, Lumina APV, Beretta, and C/K 1500) without being much more capable.
Most cars I deal with besides the Cruze and Volt get around 30 mpg on the highway. Traverse is a joke getting less than 20mpg average. I need better quality with improved mileage and high storage capacity... Also something bigger than my Saturn SL for my growing family.

Enter the wagon.

One of my favorite cars since I started my career as a tech has been the 2004-2007 Malibu Maxx. While not known for it's amazing design or superior interior ergonomics it sure is super peppy for a family car, has decent storage with the hatch and all examples I have checked average right around 30 mpg @average speed of around 25-30 mph, that's an awesome real world average number for a MPFI V6 car that weighs 3500 pounds driving around town!
The drive train is pretty simple too; pushrod SFI 3.5L v6 mated to a 4t45e transmission. No Direct injection, no VVT, no dual mode intake.