PDA

View Full Version : How can you tell a Car is driven by a "Techie"?



turbokinetic
01-14-2008, 04:15 AM
When the interior looks like THIS:

http://68.209.87.173/Temp/Techie_floor1.jpg
http://68.209.87.173/Temp/Techie_seat1.jpg

No, I never take my eyes off the road while driving! What would give you that idea?!

BTW the small yellow screwdriver sticking out of the radio is there to keep the Power button pressed in. It will not stay ON by its self and the radio is a mandatory accessory!

Pontiac6ksteawd
01-14-2008, 06:25 AM
Take a pack of cigarettes, and tear a peice of cardboard off the lid, shove it in the side of the power button of the radio. it will Jam the radio on, and take away the uglyness of the screwdriver.

LordDurock
01-14-2008, 03:54 PM
hum how did you get a tach? i just wondering because i want to install one

turbokinetic
01-14-2008, 04:37 PM
The tach in the pictures came from Advance Auto. The black gauges box is a temporary "tuning aid" and not a permenet part of the car.

On this car it hooks up to the HEI distributor. On your car you'd need a tach specifically designed to read RPM off the alternator on your diesel engine. It connects to one of the stator AC terminals inside the alternator.

They have to be calibrated for the size of the alternator/ crank pulleys; and the number of magnetic poles in the alternator.

LordDurock
01-14-2008, 06:10 PM
yuck..........

notsoslimshady76
01-14-2008, 06:15 PM
please tell me it doesn't always look like that! lol

dcjredline
01-15-2008, 02:00 PM
I'm with Kenny. Techie or not there is NO WAY I could have that crap in my car. My 4 year old isnt that messy in my car. I understand your tuning and what not but is that in there alot? Prolly not the laptop but the wiring and other mess like masking tape etc?

Maybe you could BUNDLE those wires(they look like they all go to the same place) then make one box that would hold all your guages that would fit like a center console or something.

Just an idea. YOU WANT A PHOTOCHOP of my idea? I may be able to make a crappy one for ya.

dcjredline
01-15-2008, 02:23 PM
:rant: Too bad you get a chop ANYWAY!! :rock:

Reinstall and close the glovebox, tuck all the wiring in behind the console you build and run the PC cable out of the seat side of it.

http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/5200/techiefloor1fixedex1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

turbokinetic
01-15-2008, 07:11 PM
Hey that looks great!! The plastic box does have a mount in my other turbo car, on the console.
The masking tape HAS to stay because when tuning like his you never know when the shaky wiring can short out and give 90 spark advance at full boost. First you tape up the blown places in the headasket, then tape the wiring harenss with masking tape to keep the shorts to a minimum!
After too many glances down at the gauges and computer, I inevitably will run off the road and hit something, and then masking tape Hefty trash bags over the missing windows.
I like your other ideas but the tape has to STAY! :-)

dcjredline
01-16-2008, 01:46 PM
:rofl::rofl: Tape has to stay OK then make a little slot in the console I drew to hold it!!! :rofl::rofl:

LordDurock
01-16-2008, 03:21 PM
Hey that looks great!! The plastic box does have a mount in my other turbo car, on the console.
The masking tape HAS to stay because when tuning like his you never know when the shaky wiring can short out and give 90 spark advance at full boost. First you tape up the blown places in the headasket, then tape the wiring harenss with masking tape to keep the shorts to a minimum!
After too many glances down at the gauges and computer, I inevitably will run off the road and hit something, and then masking tape Hefty trash bags over the missing windows.
I like your other ideas but the tape has to STAY! :-)

LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLO LOLOLOLOL:rock::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl: :rofl: :rofl::rofl::rofl: