PDA

View Full Version : 96 ciera 3.1 V6 cooling problems

rci2950
02-25-2008, 02:25 PM
My Ciera every so often the heater will go ice cold and the temperature guage will go way up. then as it comes within a hair of the red it will slowly go back down. then the heater starts blowing hot again. I replaced the thermostat and this didnt seem to help. Someone told me it could be a head gasket or cracked head. If that was the case wouldent i have coolant in my oil? Could it be a loose impeller on the water pump? Blockage in the rad? Im puzzled but would like to make an educated guess on what i will tackle next. I am thankful for any advice you can give.
Adam

bodega1027
02-25-2008, 04:25 PM
Hmmm... I've had my fair share of cooling problems over time, but with a new Thermostat installed, I don't know what to tell you. I'm no mechanic mind you, but I did once have a similar problem (intermittant overheating that a thermostat didn't solve)... I was in a hurry and in a pinch for cash, so I couldn't take it to a mechanic, so on a whim I flushed the radiator and crossed my fingers. That did the trick, but I couldn't really tell you why, other than I may have cleared up some debris (the coolant came out brick red at one point, so it was really time anyways).

Good luck!

rci2950
02-25-2008, 05:26 PM
also wondering where the temperature guage should be under normal driving conditions. before i changed the thermostat the temperature guage pointed half way between the quarter and half tank mark, now it is just below the quarter of a tank when warmed up.

bodega1027
02-25-2008, 05:29 PM
I'm running the same engine, with a new radiator and a fresh tank of coolant as of Saturday, and normal operating temperature on mine is between 1/2 and 3/4s (never QUITE 3/4s). Couldn't tell you if that's normal, just where I'm at.

Pushrod_V6
02-25-2008, 05:32 PM