PDA

View Full Version : new guy, 93 apv, 3.1

lurker
05-05-2012, 04:55 AM
hi, y'all.

i've read pretty much the entire forum and the yahoo list too, lots of good information here.

last month i bought an apv, 93, 3.1, gold, 140k. this van has had regular maintenance and is in pretty good shape, no rust.
spent $1500 on it, then another 100 on hatch supports and brake shoes.so far, so good. still needs rear shocks.
i'm very interested in maximizing fuel economy. apart from keeping the tune-ups and fluids fresh, any suggestions?

i'm a reasonably competent shade-tree mechanic, and worked in the auto parts business for 5 years. i have the haynes manual. my other cars are a 93 geo metro and a 90 jeep cherokee.

looking forward to learning, and maybe even contributing.

mark

officerpatton
05-05-2012, 05:08 AM
Welcome to the site! I myself had a 1992 Pontiac Trans Sport which would be very similar to yours. At only 140k that baby is just being broken in! ;)

RIPBARNBURNER
05-05-2012, 12:16 PM
Welcome! If that van was, indeed, well cared for, she has much more life to give. Be sure to share a pic or two! :D

lurker
05-05-2012, 01:27 PM
thanks for the welcome!

i suspect that this van had lots of life left in it, as i've read several accounts of them going well over 300k. the frame is rust-free, and the engine was dusty, not oily, so i knew it wasn't leaking. :) this van was bought new about 20 miles from here, and i stumbled on it at a shop, one of the best 3 or 4 best in town. fringe benefit of working in the parts business. he was replacing the motor mounts, and had done regular maintenance for the last couple of years. i'd looked at a couple of others in worse condition for more money, so knew this was a good van for a good price. i've put maybe 500 miles on it, even a trip across the border, into the nation of kentucky;).

i'll put up pictures just as soon as i figure out how. i gather there's no photo server here, and need to upload them to photobucket or some such?