Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 1989 Chevy Celebrity

Default 1989 Chevy Celebrity

Hello all,

I'm a 20 year old from Quebec that just purchased a 1989 Chevy Celebrity Sedan for $2200. The car is in quite good condition; it has 112000 km (~ 70000 miles) on the clock, absolutely no body rust (although there is a bit of rust underneath) and the 2.8L v6 (with 4-speed auto).

I've been looking for a celebrity for a number of years and so I jumped at this one when I found it online! The car was owned by a very old woman (hence the super low mileage). I've done small mods to it like blacking out the emblems and the grille and removing the mudflaps. Next on my list of things to do is to fix the sagging headliner, change out the tires/rims and replace the suspension (and maybe drop it a little bit).

As I'm fairly new to modding cars, I was hoping to pick your brains a little bit.
    Questions:
    1) Would changing the tires to 195/60/R16 or 205/50R17 cause rubbing? I'm trying to reduce the sidewall and these are the two sizes that (should) fit quite well.
    2) Regarding aftermarket rims, what would be a suitable offset for the car?
    3) Good site for reliable parts online?
    4) Any other mods/changes I can/should do to improve the car?

Any feedback is appreciated! Cheers!

Last edited by PGuru; 09-11-2015 at 04:25 AM. Reason: Re-Uploaded Pictures

Vehicle
    1989 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera, 2007 Subaru Legacy GT

For tires it depends on the wheels you get. You will want a wheel that has a similiar backspacing and you shouldn't have to worry about rubbing. In fact you could probably go wider than 205.

This thread will have some OEM wheel options from other cars for you http://www.a-body.net/forums/showthr...fitement-guide. After market you will need to either use a site that checks for you like the Tire Rack or do the math to figure out if the backspacing seems ok.

Welcome aboard! You may be the only Canadian member we have who is currently posting.