Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 40 of 40

Thread: 1990 cutlass ciera LFX 3.6 swap/Iran

  1. #31
    Senior Member kamali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    IRAN
    Vehicle
    1990 Cutlass Ciera / 78 Pontiac GP
    Posts
    237

    Default

    no problem i can remove cats but still not helping and moving that piece of the cradle is a must, and more than everything i m thinking cv axles length will be my biggest issue here.



  2. #32
    Senior Member kamali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    IRAN
    Vehicle
    1990 Cutlass Ciera / 78 Pontiac GP
    Posts
    237

    Default







  3. #33
    Senior Member kamali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    IRAN
    Vehicle
    1990 Cutlass Ciera / 78 Pontiac GP
    Posts
    237

    Default





  4. #34
    Senior Member Century7667's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Vehicle
    1996 Buick Century Limited 3100 V6 / 1995 Buick Century Special 3100 V6 / 2001 Chevy S-10 LS 2.2L
    Posts
    3,839

    Default

    Now the fun begins! Hooking all that stuff up. This should be VERY interesting!

    Ken T.

  5. #35
    Senior Member kamali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    IRAN
    Vehicle
    1990 Cutlass Ciera / 78 Pontiac GP
    Posts
    237

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Century7667 View Post
    Now the fun begins! Hooking all that stuff up. This should be VERY interesting!

    Ken T.
    yes fun, when I found out the project will be easier than what I thought ...even evaporator box i was planning to remove but it seems there is enough space and no need to remove it.

    2016 impala wheel hub on 1990 cutlass ciera ..all three bolts holes have same position and bolt pattern are same also.





    still i m not sure how to position engine/trans to have cv axles in best position as stcok engine...

  6. #36
    Senior Member Century7667's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Vehicle
    1996 Buick Century Limited 3100 V6 / 1995 Buick Century Special 3100 V6 / 2001 Chevy S-10 LS 2.2L
    Posts
    3,839

    Default

    I suppose you might start by making comparisons between the overall length of the original engine and the 3.6. I'd definitely want to keep enough room for servicing the front of the engine. I guess another way would be to look at your CV axle options.

    Ken T.

  7. #37
    Senior Member kamali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    IRAN
    Vehicle
    1990 Cutlass Ciera / 78 Pontiac GP
    Posts
    237

    Default

    i installed evaporator back on the car and did a test fit again, here are some better pics.









  8. #38
    Senior Member Century7667's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Vehicle
    1996 Buick Century Limited 3100 V6 / 1995 Buick Century Special 3100 V6 / 2001 Chevy S-10 LS 2.2L
    Posts
    3,839

    Default

    It looks like that thing just fits in there. Have you determined where you'll locate the computer and any thoughts on the wiring you'll have to do?

    Ken T.

  9. #39
    Senior Member Duke George V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Lost Wages
    Vehicle
    1996 Buick Century wagon, 1992 Buick Century sedan, 1993 Buick Century wagon
    Posts
    2,389

    Default

    All of the wiring, honestly. I don't think there will be any of the stock harness that will be usable, except as scraps. Computer may be able to be stored in the stock location, which is behind the dashboard on the passenger side. You can get to it through the glove box.

    Looking good so far. I thought for sure the heads would be too large to fit in the engine bay. Have you tried refitting the hood yet to see if it closes correctly?

  10. #40
    Senior Member kamali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    IRAN
    Vehicle
    1990 Cutlass Ciera / 78 Pontiac GP
    Posts
    237

    Default

    no way to fit new ECM into the dashboard as stock one because the different route of wiring harness , i will use some of wires on driver side about coolant temp/starter signal/maybe oil pressure signal and about AC i will use stock switche on dashboard to signal new fuse box.

    i thought same about heads and fitment but i did test fit many times and fits well plus hood closes without hitting the intake which is highest point on the engine.

    about shifter cable, i can use stock one and there is some bracket on new transmission to put it on like stock one ... as you can see even brake booster hose seated in the same place like stock and it looks like they engineered it for same car ... same about both exhaust pipes from front and rear head , rear one can go into same position for stock down pipe and front one from underneath of oil pan and sway bar without seeing it to be lower than cradle.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •